Key Creative Team Returns for 14th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®

Jan 14, 2008
Key Creative Team Returns for 14th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®
SAG Awards™ to Be Simulcast Live on TNT and TBS, Sunday, Jan. 27

Jeff Margolis, executive producer and director of the 14th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards, has announced the creative team for this year’s Actors® honors. The entire team of talented producers and artists behind the 13th Annual SAG Awards™ are returning to create this year’s ceremonies.

The 14h Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards ceremonies will be simulcast live on TNT and TBS from the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center on Sunday, Jan. 27, at 8 p.m. (ET/PT), 7 pm CT and 6 p.m. (MT).

“The whole Jeff Margolis Productions team is honored to be asked back for a tenth Screen Actors Guild Awards, especially this year which recognizes the Guild’s 75th Anniversary,” said Margolis. “We look forward to presenting the significant and powerful story of Screen Actors Guild in this year’s awards telecast.”

Kathy Connell will produce the Screen Actors Guild Awards for the 14th consecutive year (the first two were as a producer for SAG). Connell is also producer for Screen Actors Guild’s yearlong celebration of its 75th Anniversary.

SAG Awards™ Committee founding members Yale Summers (committee chair), Daryl Anderson (committee vice-chair) and Paul Napier, as well as returning committee members Shelley Fabares and JoBeth Williams, will produce for SAG.
Gloria Fujita O’Brien and Mick McCullough of Jeff Margolis Productions return as supervising producers for the tenth consecutive year.
Peabody Award winner Stephen Pouliot will be writing his tenth SAG Awards script. In addition to the SAG Awards, Pouliot has collaborated with Jeff Margolis on numerous specials, including Julie Andrews: One Step Into Spring (which Margolis directed and Pouliot wrote and produced), CBS: 50 Years from Television City, 9/11-The Concert for New York City, and A Gala for the President at Ford’s Theatre.

Production designers John Shaffner & Joe Stewart, who together share 29 Emmy® nominations, an Art Directors Guild Award for the 2006 Emmy Awards plus four Art Directors Guild nominations and five Emmys (including their 2005 kudo for The George Lopez Show), will be designing their fifth new set for the SAG Awards. Shaffner is the newly elected chair of the Academy of Arts and Sciences Board of Governors, on which Stewart serves as a Governor representing the Art Directors/Set Decorators Peer Group.
Also returning for his fifth year is lighting designer Jeffrey Engel, an Emmy®-winner and 21-time Emmy nominee for projects including the 63rd and 64th Academy Awards®, both directed by Margolis.
Composer and conductor Lenny Stack, an Emmy-winner for music arranging for the Screen Actors Guild 50th Anniversary Special and composer of the current SAG Awards™ theme, returns for his ninth Screen Actors Guild Awards. Stack has also been musical director for the Golden Globe® Awards since 1994.
Filmmaker Douglass M. Stewart, Jr. will produce the film salute lauding the accomplishments of SAG Life Achievement Award honoree Charles Durning. A veteran of 26 Oscar® telecasts and 12 Emmy shows, eight-time Emmy nominee Stewart returns for his fourth SAG Awards telecast.

Quinn Monahan, who last year created the SAG Awards salute to voice-over actors, is producing the film tributes to Screen Actors Guild’s 75th Anniversary. Monahan has created film packages for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. He is currently Director and Co-Executive Producer of the Internet series, North Hollywood After Dark.
Paul Fagen will produce the SAG Awards’ “In Memoriam” homage for the second consecutive year. Fagen has created celebrity tributes for the American Film Institute and such events as the Sundance Ray-Ban Visionary Awards. He is tribute director of the Santa Barbara International Film Festival, which is honoring Cate Blanchett, Javier Bardem, Tommy Lee Jones and Angelina Jolie this year.
Returning for his 11th SAG Awards™ is Keaton S. Walker, who has served as the SAG Awards art director since 1997 and the Academy Awards’® art director for 25 years. Walker is a multiple Emmy® and Art Director’s Guild honoree for his work on the Oscars and the Emmys.

Keith Greco returns for the fifth year to design the Award ceremonies’ grand entrance and showroom décor. Among many recent projects prior to starting this year’s SAG Awards, he designed the Primetime Emmys Governor’s Ball, the Creative Arts Emmys Gala at the Shrine, the Spider-Man 3 premiere at New York’s Kaufman Astoria Studios and the premiere for Cirque du Soleil’s Corteo at the Los Angeles Forum.
SAG Awards event supervisor Andrea Wyn Schall, a two-time Special Events Gala award nominee, returns for the ninth year to coordinate event design and logistics. She and Greco will again create the Champagne Taittinger toast that opens the SAG Awards Red Carpet.

Also returning is the SAG Awards’ executive in charge of production since 1999, Benn Fleishman. In the interim between the 13th and 14th Screen Actors Guild Awards he served as production executive on The Taurus World Stunt Awards, the 19th Annual GLAAD Media Awards, NBC’s Christmas in Rockefeller Center and the HBO special Bill Maher: The Decider.

Maggie Barrett Caulfield, executive in charge of talent since 2001, returns for her eighth SAG Awards.

Screen Actors Guild is the nation’s largest labor union representing working actors. Established in 1933, SAG has a rich history in the American labor movement, from standing up to studios to break long-term engagement contracts in the 1940s to fighting for artists’ rights amid the digital revolution sweeping the entertainment industry in the 21st century. With 20 branches nationwide, SAG represents nearly 120,000 actors who work in motion pictures, television, commercials, industrials, video games, Internet and all new media formats. The Guild exists to enhance actors’ working conditions, compensation and benefits and to be a powerful, unified voice on behalf of artists’ rights. Headquartered in Los Angeles, SAG is a proud affiliate of the AFL-CIO. More information is available online at

TBS, a division of Turner Broadcasting System, Inc., is television’s top-rated comedy network. It serves as home to such original comedy series as “My Boys,” “The Bill Engvall Show,” Tyler Perry’s “House of Payne,” “10 Items or Less” and “Frank TV”; hot contemporary comedies like “The Office,” “Sex and the City,” “Everybody Loves Raymond,” “Family Guy,” “King of Queens,” “Seinfeld” and “Friends,” with “My Name Is Earl” joining the line-up in 2008; specials and special events, such as “Funniest Commercials of the Year” and The Comedy Festival in Las Vegas; blockbuster movies; and hosted movie showcases.

Turner Network Television (TNT), television’s destination for drama and one of cable’s top-rated networks, offers original movies and series, including the acclaimed and highly popular detective drama “The Closer,” starring Golden Globe? winner and Emmy and Screen Actors Guild Awards? nominee Kyra Sedgwick, and “Saving Grace,” a provocative new drama starring Oscar winner Holly Hunter. TNT is also home to powerful one-hour dramas, such as “Law & Order,” “Without a Trace,” “Cold Case,” “ER,” “Charmed” and “Judging Amy;” broadcast premiere movies; compelling prime-time specials, such as the “Screen Actors Guild Awards;” and championship sports coverage, including NASCAR and the NBA. TNT is available in high-definition.