Jul 12, 2007

Jeff Margolis Productions Renews Screen Actors Guild Awards® Production Agreement

14th Annual SAG Awards™ will be Simulcast Live on TNT and TBS, Sunday, Jan. 27, 2008

Los Angeles, California - Jeff Margolis, who has served as executive producer of the Screen Actors Guild Awards® since the fifth Actors® honors in 1999 and his Jeff Margolis Productions team will produce the 14th through 16th Screen Actors Guild Awards® telecasts, producer Kathy Connell announced today.

The only industry honors selected entirely by actors' peers, the 14th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® will be simulcast live on TNT and TBS from the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center on Sunday, Jan. 27,2008 at 8 pm ET/PT, 7 pm CT and 6 pm MT.

“The 14th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® will mark the tenth year that Jeff Margolis Productions has produced the SAG Awards™ in association with Screen Actor Guild,” noted Connell. “Screen Actors Guild and the Jeff Margolis production team have developed a successful collaboration. During this time we have seen the SAG Awards telecast receive critical acclaim and grow in audience and industry stature. We look forward to continuing our creative association.”

Margolis has shaped more than 100 of the entertainment industry's biggest events, headlined by its top stars, for which he has received many of the industry’s top honors. Margolis won two Directors Guild of America Awards for directing the Oscars®, has garnered six Emmy® nominations for directing the 1991-1996 Academy Awards telecasts and won Emmys® for directing the 1995 Oscars® and for producing Sammy Davis Jr.'s 60th Anniversary Celebration.

Margolis and Jeff Margolis Productions has produced such memorable special telecasts as, the September 11 tribute concert United We Stand; 2006 NCLR Alma Awards, Motown 45; CBS … 50 Years from Television City; The First Family’s Holiday Gift to America: A Tour of the White House; President Clinton's 50th Birthday Celebration at Radio City Music Hall; A Gala for the President at Ford's Theater. Quincy Jones…The First 50 Years; An Evening with Bette, Cher, Meryl, Goldie, & Robin; Celebrate the Dream: Fifty Years of Ebony; Julie and Carol: Together Again and The Television Academy Hall of Fame with Margolis serving as executive producer and director for most of these television events. The JMP team has also produced the NBC musical reality/variety series Fame and the VH1 reality/audition series In Search of the Partridge Family. Margolis has executive-produced the Los Angeles Music Center’s Spotlight Awards to honor young performing artists for the past seven years.

Margolis' prolific directing career includes 22 American Music Awards; eight Oscar®, three Emmy® and two Academy of Country Music Awards telecasts; the feature film Richard Pryor Live in Concert and numerous television specials and series.

The 14th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® are produced by Jeff Margolis Productions in association with Screen Actors Guild. Jeff Margolis is the executive producer and Kathy Connell is the producer. Yale Summers, Daryl Anderson, Shelley Fabares, Paul Napier and JoBeth Williams are producers for SAG. Gloria Fujita O’Brien and Mick McCullough are supervising producers. Benn Fleishman is executive in charge of production.

Screen Actors Guild is the nation’s largest labor union representing working actors. Established in 1933, SAG has a rich history in the American labor movement, from standing up to studios to break long-term engagement contracts in the 1940s to fighting for artists’ rights amid the digital revolution sweeping the entertainment industry in the 21st century. With 20 branches nationwide, SAG represents nearly 120,000 actors who work in motion pictures, television, commercials, industrials, video games, Internet and all new media formats. The Guild exists to enhance actors’ working conditions, compensation and benefits and to be a powerful, unified voice on behalf of artists’ rights. Headquartered in Los Angeles, SAG is a proud affiliate of the AFL-CIO. More information is available online at

TBS, a division of Turner Broadcasting System, Inc., is television’s “very funny” network. It serves as home to such hot contemporary comedies as Sex and the City, Everybody Loves Raymond, Family Guy, King of Queens, Seinfeld and Friends; original comedy series like My Boys, The Bill Engvall Show, 10 Items or Less and Frank TV; first-run series like Tyler Perry’s House of Payne; specials and special events, such as Funniest Commercials of the Year and The Comedy Festival in Las Vegas; blockbuster movies; and hosted movie showcases.

Turner Network Television (TNT), television’s destination for drama and one of cable’s top-rated networks, offers original movies and series, including the acclaimed detective drama The Closer, starring Golden Globe® winner and Emmy® and Screen Actors Guild Awards® nominee Kyra Sedgwick; Saving Grace, a provocative new drama starring Oscar® winner Holly Hunter; Heartland, a powerful medical drama with Treat Williams and Kari Matchett; and the three-week television event The Company, starring Chris O’Donnell, Michael Keaton and Alfred Molina. TNT is also home to powerful one-hour dramas, such as Law & Order, Without a Trace, Cold Case, ER, Charmed and Judging Amy; broadcast premiere movies; compelling prime-time specials, such as the Screen Actors Guild Awards; and championship sports coverage, including NASCAR and the NBA. TNT is also available in high-definition.